Journey to Justice

Trustees & Director

With many thanks for their time and talent to trustees Parul Motin and Veena Vasista who stepped down from the board in 2019 after being at the heart of JtoJ since we started. They were wise and insightful trustees and we will miss them though delighted they want to remain as part of Journey to Justice.

Sahar Beyad

Sahar is Media & Communications Officer at National Museums Liverpool and leads on the International Slavery Museum & World Museum. She has a huge passion for the arts, culture and education with over five years of working in the PR & communications industry.

Pat Boyer

(Secretary) has taught in inner London schools for 40 years (20 as a Head) and lectures on Equity and Achievement in the US and UK. The school where she was Head is twinned with Xolani School, S. Africa.

Dr Madge Dresser

(JtoJ Vice Chair and Bristol Co-ordinator)  was Associate Professor of History at UWE and is now Honorary Professor of History at the University of Bristol. Her life long research on race, ethnicity and social justice grew out of her experiences as the grandchild of Eastern European Jewish immigrants and an American student during the era of the Civil Rights movement.

Mark Hutchinson

(JtoJ Sheffield Co-ordinator) is a secondary school teacher of History and Religious Education in Sheffield. He has also worked as a Black and Minority Ethnic teacher adviser.

Ema Jackson

Ema Jackson is Campaign Manager of the Send My Friend to School coalition which brings together young people, politicians, teachers, civil society and the media in joint campaigning to demand quality education for all children across the globe. Ema is passionate about campaigning for social justice and working with young people.

Sheri Lawal

(Community links) is Director of CHOICES (London) CIC for community development  and youth empowerment.

Jack Madden

(Online platform co-ordinator) is a Community Organiser and activist who has built grassroots campaigns across the UK. It was an inspiring history teacher and stories from the civil rights movement which brought him into organising and activism in the first place.

Terence McGregor

(Treasurer) was Treasurer of Southwark CAB (Citizens Advice Bureau) and a trustee of Lambeth and Merton CAB.

Patrick Regan

Patrick Regan is a monitoring and evaluation specialist and runs the Rights Evaluation Studio, an evaluation consultancy. He has worked at several human rights NGOs such as the European Human Rights Advocacy Centre and the Media Legal Defence Initiative. He is an advocate for human rights and inspired by the stories of human rights defenders and activists.

Martin Spafford

(Chair & Training Co-ordinator) taught history in London schools for over thirty years and has helped develop school resources – online and in print - for the teaching of migration to Britain. He runs training workshops for teachers and students at primary and secondary level and is an Honorary Fellow of the Historical Association and the Schools History Project.

Carrie Supple

is the Director of Journey to Justice (not a trustee) and was Director of Youth Act.  She has 30 years of experience in education and human rights work: teachingforsolidarity

With huge thanks to everyone who has helped to get us this far